Headshot of Theda Daniels-RaceBATON ROUGE, LA – LSU Electrical & Computer Engineering Professor Theda Daniels-Race has recently been appointed to serve as a member of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee.

Daniels-Race is the first faculty member from LSU to be named to the committee. Her term ends on Dec. 31, 2024.

“I am honored to have been recognized for my contributions to energy research and to serve the nation in a capacity that advises the DOE's basic energy sciences program,” she said.

The committee, established in 1986, provides advice and recommendations on scientific, technical, and programmatic issues relating to the Basic Energy Services Program. It reports to the director of the Office of Science and is expected to meet approximately three times each year in the Washington, D.C., area.

Daniels-Race is a Michel B. Voorhies Distinguished Professor in the LSU Division of Electrical & Computer Engineering and the program director of the LSU School of Collaborative Academic Programs. She is also director of the Electronic Materials and Devices Laboratory in the LSU College of Engineering.

Like us on Facebook (@lsuengineering) or follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@lsuengineering).​


Contact: Joshua Duplechain
Director of Communications
225-578-5706 (o)



Publish Date: