(Source:  LSU College of Science)

College of Science Faculty Named Fellows of AAAS, AMS and APS

BATON ROUGE – The holiday season is upon us, bringing with it a flurry of accolades for LSU researchers. College of Science faculty have recently received a significant amount of honors in a short amount of time, with several being named fellows of three prestigious organizations – the American Association for the Advancement of Science, or AAAS, the American Mathematical Society, or AMS, and the American Physical Society, or APS.

“Our faculty are routinely recognized by their peers year-round, but this particular group of awards is particularly noteworthy,” said Kevin Carman, dean of LSU’s College of Science. “I’m always impressed but never surprised to see the accolades that our faculty receive from their fellow scholars throughout the world – and right here at home.”

Four researchers from LSU’s College of Science have been honored with the rank of “Fellow” by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, or AAAS, the world’s largest scientific organization. Election as a fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers in recognition of their efforts toward advancing science applications deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.

“The fact that LSU researchers are consistently recognized by their peers demonstrates the value and impact of their work,” said Interim Vice Chancellor of Research & Economic Development Tom Klei. “We are extremely proud of our faculty, and grateful for their tireless efforts supporting LSU.”
LSU’s newest AAAS Fellows are:

Susanne Brenner - For advances in finite element, multi-grid and domain decomposition methods, and for service to the computational and applied mathematics community.

Rongying Jin - For significant contributions to materials physics, including science-driven materials development and pioneering studies of their underlying physics.

Marcia Newcomer - For distinguished contributions to the field of structural biology, particularly for her recent elucidation of the structure of human 5-lipoxygenase.

Kenneth Schafer - For seminal contributions in the field of laser-matter interactions through extensive theoretical studies of high quality and great innovation.

 Four LSU faculty members, were also recognized as inaugural Fellows of the American Mathematical Society, or AMS.

Professor Sue Brenner has published more than 75 papers on computational mathematics, is the managing editor of “Mathematics of Computation,” and sits on the editorial board of 12 other journals. Brenner received the Humbold Forschungspreis in 2005, and became SIAM fellow in 2010.

Professor James Oxley has published more than 140 papers in matroid and graph theory, and is author of the standard text book “Matroid theory.” He is on the editorial board of “Combinatorics, Probability and Computing,” the “SIAM Journal on Discrete Mathematics” and the “Journal of Combinatorial Theory, Series B,” which is the premier journal in combinatorics.

Two other recipients, Pierre Conner and Robert Koch, are retired faculty members.

The university also had one faculty member named an APS Fellow, bringing the total number of LSU APS fellows to 17. The APS represents more than 50,000 members, including physicists in academic, national laboratories and industry in the United States and throughout the world.

Professor Jeffrey Blackmon – For his vision and innovation in exploiting radioactive nuclear beams to advance our understanding nuclear processes that govern astrophysical phenomena.
“Recognition by prestigious scientific organizations such as these drive home the success our faculty have earned through their work here at LSU,” said Executive Vice Chancellor & Provost Stuart Bell. “These men and women are operating at the top of their respective fields, and we are lucky to count them as part of our LSU family.”

To learn more about the LSU College of Science, visit http://science.lsu.edu/.

Publish Date: